Biden Administration Transition Picks Up Speed

The ongoing transition from the Trump to the Biden Administration continues and received a new dose of energy with the Electoral College vote this week affirming Mr. Biden’s Presidential victory.  He has nominated a number of Cabinet level officials of interest to CPA, including:

  • Jennifer Granholm, Secretary of Energy: Former Governor of Michigan, presently law professor at UC Berkeley
  • Peter Buttigieg, Secretary of Transportation: Former Mayor of South Bend, IN, most recently Democratic Candidate for President
  • Tom Vilsack, Secretary of Agriculture: Former Ag Secretary and Governor of Iowa
  • John Kerry, Climate Ambassador (of sorts): Former U.S. Senator, former candidate for President and Vice President
  • Gina McCarthy, White House Climate Czar: Former EPA Administrator, former Massachusetts Environmental Official
  • Michael Regan, EPA Administrator: Presently Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Environmental Quality, previously an EPA employee
  • Debra Haaland, Secretary of the Interior:  Congresswoman from New Mexico, and if confirmed would be the first Native American Cabinet secretary.

What is clear from the list of individuals thus far nominated by President-elect Biden, is that the issue of climate change will be front and center beginning early in 2021 and accordingly will be a key focus of CPA advocacy next year.

Scroll to Top